Archive for google analytics

5 Real Time Analytics Apps for Small Business

woopra analytics dashboard

While Google Analytics provides a lot of insight into your website traffic, one thing it does not provide is data on individual users. This has led to a host of applications that provide real time analytics including the ability to view visitors as they navigate from page to page. Some of these application even include the ability to launch a chat session with your visitors where you can direct them to certain pages or answer any questions they may have.

If you are ready to move beyond Google Analytics and into the world of real time analytics, here are 5 applications that you will want to check out:

  1. Woopra feeds you live visitor stats, including where they live, what pages they are on now, where they’ve been on your site and their Web browser. You also have the ability to chat live with individual site visitors. Woopra has a free version and their StartUp package currently costs $79.95/mo.
  2. Clicky also provides real-time analytics, including Spy View, which lets you observe what current visitors are doing on your site. Clicky’s dashboard is simple to use and presents all the information you want to see clearly. Clicky features heat maps and they also have a mobile version so you can check your stats on the go.They offer a free plan if you have only one website and a Pro account that starts at $9.99/mo.
  3. Mint is an analytics tool that you host on your own server. Like the other packages mentioned here, you get the benefit of real-time stats. You can track site visitors, where they are coming from and what pages they are viewing. Peppermill, is a collection of add-ons that provide additional functionality for Mint. For example the iPhone Pepper enables easy browsing of your analytics from your iPhone.  Mint costs $30 (one time cost) per website.
  4. Chartbeat’s real-time traffic and audience-behavior data shows you who’s on your site and how they’re engaging with your content right now — so you can take action on what matters when it matters. Chartbeat offers a free 30 day trial and an online demo. Plans start at $9.95 per month.
  5. As Kissmetrics puts it Google Analytics tells you what happened, KISSmetrics tells you who did it. KISSmetrics fills this gap by showing you every action each individual did. Finally, you’ll know who your most valuable customers are and how to get more of them. Kissmetric’s price plans are based on the number of events tracked and start at $99/mo for 500k events.

Do you have a favorite real time analytics app not listed above? Drop me a comment below.

Get a Head Start with Google Analytics Solutions Gallery

google analytics solution gallery logo

Getting started with Google Analytics can be challenging. The tool contains so many reports, filters, and ability for customizations that it can be overwhelming to figure out where to look first. There is a definite learning curve for moving from looking at data to drawing insights that will help you make business decisions.

Google is helping to shorten that learning curve with their Google Analytics Solution Gallery. This solution gallery contains Dashboards, Advanced Segments and Custom Reports that you can quickly import into your own analytics account.

The tool helps you find the right component to answer the business question you want to address. Here is a snapshot of the dropdowns you can use to filter and find the the metrics that matter to you (click the image to see a larger version):

google-analtics-gallery-1

 

The Analytics Solution dropdown allows you to narrow down your choices to the available Dashboard, Custom Report, or Advanced Segment categories.

Use the Business Objective dropdown to indicate the type of website you have – Publisher, E-commerce, Branding, Lead Generation or Support.

The Marketing Function filter helps you select tools to help you answer questions about SEO, Social Sharing, Engagement, PPC, Acquisition, Mobile, and Site Optimization.

As you change the dropdowns, the page will display the different tools available in the area below, along with a description of each tool. For example, here is an image of the custom reports for e-commerce that are related to acquisition:

google-analytics-gallery-2

To add one of these solutions to your Google Analytics account:

  1. Make sure you are logged into your GA account
  2. Click on the download link under the description of the solution you want to add to your account
  3. Accept the solution into your account and indicate which Web Profile you want to apply it to.

That’s it, you should now have the tool in your GA account ready to use.

How To Calculate the Value of a Website Conversion

monetary value

Identifying the monetary value of your website visitors is an important step to evaluating and improving the effectiveness of your online presence. Creating goals and assigning values to those goals is how you connect the resources you put into creating your total online presence to your business goals. In the last post we touched briefly on assigning values to your goal conversions, this post provides some additional ideas on how to go about calculating your goal values.

You don’t have to sell products and services directly on your website in order to track the value of goal conversions on your website. Most professional service providers and B2B companies have several “mini conversions” that their customers complete before making a purchase – downloading brochures, attending webinars, scheduling a free consultation, etc. Since we don’t have a sale price to use for these conversions, we just need to calculate a value for the goal.

The “ideal” method for calculating the monetary value of a goal conversion on your website is to divide the lifetime value of your typical customer by the number of goal conversions it takes to land a new customer. For example lets say that:

  • 1 out of every 800 people who download an eBook from your website ends up becoming a customer
  • The lifetime value of that customer is $5,000

The value you would assign to the goal conversion of an eBook being downloaded would be $5,000/800 = $6.25

Now, as a small business owner, you may not have been collecting the data you need for this “ideal” calculation. Should you wait until you have the data before calculating values for your goals? No. There are many ways you can calculate the monetary values you assign to your goals. My recommendation is to assign a value, start tracking your data, and refine your estimates as you learn more from the data you collect.

If you don’t know the LTV of a customer you can use your average sale amount or the price of your typical sale. If you have a wide range of products and services, you may (over time) tie the value of the sale to the goal that is converted. For example, people who sign up for your webinar may typically purchase a $99 dollar workbook while those who request a free consultation may typically purchase a $10,000 coaching engagement. In this example, tying the value to the specific goal conversion will give you a better measure than using an average sale.

If you don’t know the percentage of visitors who become customers, you can find a starting point by Googling “average conversion rate by industry”. You will find conversion rates ranging from 2% to 10% and higher.

For many small business owners, it is easier to skip the formal calculation and assign a starting value based on experience and/or gut feel. You could assign a value based upon:

  • Prices you have paid for purchasing mailing lists
  • Prices you have paid for pay per click advertising
  • Price you would be willing to pay for a qualified visitor

Don’t worry about assigning the perfect value to your goal conversion; assign a value, start measuring, and build the habit of reviewing the data, adjusting your estimates, and continuing to improve.

If you don’t have any data to begin with, start by assigning one value to your goal or goals. As you continue your reviewing and planning processes you can begin to refine your goals and goal values based on product types, traffic sources, keywords, and other factors.

Using Google Analytics Goals to Measure Results on Your Website

goal target

This post is the third in a series of post about using Google Analytics to measure and improve the effectiveness of your online presence. In the first post we talked about improving the visibility of your website in order to reach more potential customers. The second post discussed how to measure visitor behavior once they reached your website. Today’s post covers metrics that help you measure business results or conversions that take place on your website by using Google Analytics Goals.

This category of metrics helps you answer the answer questions like:

  • What is the bottom line of all the activity related to my online presence?
  • Is my online presence helping my business? Is it contributing to my bottom line?

Goals or Conversions

Google Analytics allows you to define a set of criteria for goal, which is simply an action that a website visitor can perform that you have identified as being important to your bottom line. Completed actions are measured in terms of goal completions or conversions. Assigning monetary values to your goals (more below) helps you focus on the goals that provide the greatest contribution to your bottom line.

Metrics in this category begin with goal completions and then look to determine where your visitors who completed goals came from in order to help you improve your conversion rates. Here are some common metrics to pay attention to in this category:

Goal Completions – are how you tie all of the efforts you put into attracting, engaging, and educating visitors to your business goals. The most obvious conversion is when a visitor is converted into a customer by making a purchase on your website. Google Analytics (as well as other analytics tools) allows you to assign a monetary value to your goal completion, allowing you to express conversions in both instances and values ( 3 conversions valued at $1,200).

Goals can capture much more than just sales; you can create goals for any action you would like your web visitors to complete. You may want to set goals for white paper downloads or requests for additional information. If your sales process includes a free consultation, you would certainly want to set that up as a goal.

I also recommend that you assign a value to each of your goals. So if I know that 1 in 5 people that fill out a form on my website end up buying my service that costs $100, then I may assign a value of $20 to that goal. I’ll cover others ways to assign values to goals in a future post.

Goal Completions from Calls to Action – helps you identify what content on your site prompted a visitor to take action. Example calls to action may include prompts to download a white paper, register for an event, or a request for a free quote or consultation.

Goal Completions from Referrals – help you identify the links on other websites that bring you traffic that converts. Use this metric to evaluate the effectiveness of your link building efforts as well as banner advertising.

Goal Completions Assisted by Social Media – are your social media properties sending you traffic that converts? Use this metric to determine the number and value of conversions from your social media activities.

Return on SEO Spend – are you spending money, either internally or with a consultant, for Search Engine Optimization (SEO)? If so, one of the tools you can use to evaluate whether you are getting your money’s worth is the return on SEO spend metric, which is the monetary value of your SEO goals completed divided by the cost of your SEO campaign.

Begin With the End (Goals) in Mind

If you are building a new website, or considering redesigning your existing site, it is a good idea to start with your goals in mind first and then work backwards to help determine the best way to optimize (and test) your website for goal conversions.

Using Google Analytics to Determine What Visitors Do On Your Website

google analytics logo

In my last post I outlined some of the metrics you can use to measure and improve the reach and visibility of your website. Once your get people to find you in the search results and click through to visit your website, it is helpful to know what visitors actually do once they get there. That is where our next set of metrics come in.

Action or engagement metrics help us measure and understand:

  • What visitors actually do on your website
  • The actions or behaviors that are most helpful in meeting your business goals
  • What changes to the website actually prompt more of those desirable actions (and which changes were detrimental to meeting those goals)

In other words, action metrics help you determine which of your reach strategies are working (delivering the right kind of traffic) best and which need to be adjusted (or dropped). Here are some common metrics you can use to measure, evaluate, and improve engagement on your site:

Returning vs. New Visitors – This metric is sometimes referred to as Visitor Loyalty. We all want to attract new visitors to our websites, but returning visitors often return because they are interested in the information we provide about our products, services, and the business problems that we solve.

Page Views per Visit – can give you an indication of how well your website is engaging visitors. Do they stick around and explore the information on your site? Or do they quickly leave after viewing the first page they land on? Look at this metric combined with time on site and bounce rate to identify patterns in how visitors behave once they reach your site.

Time on Site – tells you the average amount of time a visitor spends on your site. Use this metric in combination with others to spot trends in how visitors use your website. For example, so certain keywords attract traffic with higher time on site metrics than others? Do those who spend more time on your site tend to visit specific pages on your site?

Bounce Rate – a “bounce” is defined as someone who visits a page on your website, and then leaves your website without visiting any of the other pages on your site. Bounce rate, along with pages per visit and time on site, can be an indication of how well your content matches visitors search intent.

Comments and Interactions – as blogging and social media play a bigger part in our total online presence, comments and interactions can be a good indication of how well we are engaging our community and providing content that they are interest in.

Site Search – tells you exactly what visitors are looking for once they reach your website. Don’t overlook this goldmine of information that will help you convert more visitors into leads by providing the information they need to feel comfortable in order to move to the next step in their buying process.

There are other important actions that visitors can take on your website such as filling out forms, downloading resources, or contacting you via your contact form. We’ll discuss those in the next post about goals and conversions.

Does Browser Size Affect Your Small Business Website?

Visitors to your website use all different types of devices. Mobile browsing is becoming more popular every day. Desktop monitors are getting larger, but does that mean they are displaying more of your site? Depending on how tech savvy your ideal customers are, the visible portion of the web page may much smaller than the screen resolution, because of all of the toolbars and widgets they use.

All of these factors make it difficult to determine the percentage of visitors for whom certain page elements (i.e. call to action buttons) fall beneath the fold or are hidden in a side bar that they have to scroll to see. So the friendly folks on the Google Analytics team created a visualization tool that lets you quickly determine which portions of your page are visible to which percentages of visitors.

To access the tool, go to In-Page Analytics in the content section of your analytics account. By clicking Browser Size, you can shade portions of the page that are below the fold. Click anywhere on the screen and you can see what percentage of visitors can see that part of your page.

The report shows data based on the page you are viewing. Play around with the picker to view data for “visitors to the site” or “Web users” and compare it to different benchmarks.

This tool started out as a Google lab (http://browsersize.googlelabs.com/. If you were using that lab, know that Google we will be retiring it in about one month.

Measuring Social Media With Google Analytics

Have you been looking for a way to measure your social media efforts?

If so, then you will want to look at the recently released Google Analytics Social reports. The reports are designed to help you connect social media to the business metrics you care about – like conversions (sales, sign ups, etc.).

The new reports are geared to help you:

  • Identify the value of traffic coming from social sites
  • Measure direct conversions or future conversions from that traffic
  • Understand social activities happening both on and off of your site
  • Make better, data-driven decisions related to social media marketing

Use the Social reports see a more complete picture of social impact on your site. Below is a quick summary of some of the new information the social reports in Google Analytics will provide.

Here is a sample screen shot of Overview Report.

measuring social media value

The Overview report show you the value of conversions generated from your social channels. I like how this report shows you not only the conversions that were immediately preceded by a social interaction (last interaction social conversions) but it also show you conversions where social played a part, but was not that last interaction (assisted social conversions). As you can imagine, I would expect “assisted” circle to be much larger for professional service firms and other B2B firms.

The Conversions Report shows the conversion rates of each social network and the monetary value (based on the goal values you have set up) they drive to your business. Here is a what the conversions report looks like:

conversions from social media channels

In order to learn how people are interacting with your content and whether they are taking action or not, look to the social sources report. The social sources report looks like a typical GA graph so I won’t bother including one here.

Ever wonder if having all of those sharing buttons on your site is really helping or not? The Social Plugin report shows which pages and posts on your site are receiving the most attention and which social buttons (twitter, +1, etc.) are being clicked to share them.

social plugins effectiveness

The Activity Stream is a very cool report that shows what most small business owners want to know – the impact that social engagement is having on your website.

The Activities Stream tab shows how people are engaging your content off your site across the social web.

For content that was shared publicly, you can see the links they shared, how and where they shared and what they had to say. Currently, most of the activities will come from Google+, but that should expand in the future.

The new social reports are currently being rolled out over the next few weeks, so keep a look out for them. They will show up under the Standard Reporting Tab.

The new social reports for Google Analytics are included in our managed marketing services and managed website programs, so if you are a current customer we’ll be covering these reports in one of your next review sessions.